Lessons learned in the midst of COVID-19

Photo by Evie Shaffer on Pexels.com

2020 has been quite the year for everyone. It has become the new decade of the unexpected and the unknown – Coronavirus. A novel virus that as of today still exists and still progressing since the cure has not yet been founded.

The Coronavirus has surprised me in many ways, both good and bad. It has been almost a year that I have been around it. However, there are a few lessons that have allowed me to better understand myself and my surroundings during these hard times. Below are the highlights of what has kept me sane during these unprecedented times.

  • FaceTime / Communication

I thank the evolution of technology! Especially our smartphones and laptops because we are able to now communicate through video camera. During COVID specifically, FaceTime has been my best friend because it allows me to communicate with my loved ones while at the same time practicing safe social distancing. I also enjoy that video conferencing allows me to talk to multiple people at the same time!

  • Mindfulness

I always talk about mindfulness because it really has helped me with my mental health. During the pandemic, I have practiced meditation way more and in a way I’m happy I have because it has awakened my brain to accept the present for what it is and let go of what isn’t. I truly do recommend anyone to incorporate meditation especially mindfulness into their everyday life because over time, it trains the brain to awaken to reality.

  • Journaling

Believe it or not, writing down your thoughts on paper is relaxing. Not always, but, mostly, whenever I feel heavy emotions, I turn to the pen and the paper to pour out what’s happening. When I read it the next day, it feels soothing because It’s like I’m able to understand my thought process and figure out on things I can work on. I also feel that the more you journal, the better communicator you become to yourself and the world.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started